The awards celebrate Alberta’s best books of the year across 14 categories

Asian woman with long brown hair, black glasses and smiling. White man with light blonde hair in button down white shirt and trench coat.
Darcy Tamayose, left, and Anthony Bidulka are among finalists for the 2023 Alberta Book Publishing Awards. (NeWest Press, Hogarth Photography)

Canadian writers Darcy Tamayose and Anthony Bidulka are among the finalists for the 2023 Alberta Book Publishing Awards.

The prize, administered by the Book Publishers Association of Alberta, annually celebrates the province’s best books of the year across 14 categories.

Book cover of a small brown house on a plane of snow and a light blue sky
(Stonehouse Publishing)

Going to Beautiful is a finalist for mystery & thriller book of the year.

When thriving celebrity chef Jake Hardy has a horrible accident, his life is upended as he moves to a small snowy town in the Prairies. Going to Beautiful follows Hardy during his recovery in a scenic new environment as he befriends his 78 year old transgender neighbour. When Hardy begins to believe what happened to him might not have been an accident at all, he and his neighbour discover murder cases from decades ago.

Bidulka is a crime and mystery writer from Saskatoon. He is also the author of the Adam Saint books, the Russell Quant Mysteries and Flight of Aquavit which was the first Canadian book to win the Lambda Literary Award in the men’s mystery category. Going to Beautiful also won the Independent Publisher Book Award for Canada West Best Fiction.

LISTEN | Saskatoon writer wins best Canadian crime novel award:

Anthony Bidulka spoke with host Garth Materie about his latest novel ‘Going to Beautiful,’ which won the 2023 Crime Writers of Canada award for Best Crime Novel.

Mystery & Thriller Book of the Year:

The winners of the 2023 Alberta Book Publishing Awards —  including the pecial Achievement in Publishing Award, the Lois Hole Award for editorial excellence and the Lifetime Achievement in Publishing Award categories —  will be announced at a reception in Edmonton to be held on Sept. 21, 2023.

Previous winners include Canadian writers such as Dionne Brand, Dawn Dumont, Abu Bakr al Rabeeah and Wayne Arthurson.

See the complete list of nominees at CBC Books